Compared to past, more people are now trying to learn a foreign language to increase their chances of landing a better job in their native country or to have better opportunities to work abroad. To what extent do you agree with this point of view?

It is often argued that there is a growing interest among people to learn a new language. By doing so, they believe that it will help them secure better employment in their home country or even a different country.

As a working professional myself, I completely support this viewpoint. This essay will explore that being bilingual can help people build better work relationships and also give them a competitive edge.

People thesedays pefer working for huge multinational corporations as they pay handsomely. These organisations have clients and teams in different countries whose first language might not be English. In such situations, talking to people in their native language can be beneficial. For example, when I worked in a French multinational bank in India, my team mates and clients in France preferred talking in French. Learning just basic French help me build better working relationship with them as it made them feel valued.

On the other hand,some people might want to move abroad to seek better employment and knowing an additional language can give them a competitive edge. A good expample might be someone moving to Germany to find good employment opportunities and for such a person knowing German might help them secure a job faster than other candidates with the same experience.

For the reasons outlined above, I firmly believe that learning a foreign language can be helpful to people in securing a high paying job in their own country or even abroad.