Competition for universities increase nowadays.Why is this so?Is it a positive or negative development?

In recent times, it is more difficult for graduates to apply and enter universities due to the rise of competitiveness among them. This essay will discuss the key reason for that phenomena and evaluate whether this change is beneficial or not.

Globalization processes have strengthened the ties between countries, thus increasing the amount of interactions and communication among them. Some people have found this a great opportunity to challenge themselves and get a better education in foreign countries due to high accessibility to travel across the globe. At the same time, states with the best educational systems strived to attract students overseas to popularize their institutions, and to be in red by providing education and accommodation for foreigners. As a result, this led to all universities to raise their standards for candidates to find the ones who will fit their institution the best.

Some might find this phenomena as a negative change – it is harder for the youth to get a better education, forcing them to study intensely, putting them under pressure, and there is no guarantee for them to enter their desired university and have a financially stable life. These changes are certainly detrimental for certain individuals, however, I find this development posititve. Like a natural selection, it is possible to filter candites who will fit the contemporary standards of professionalism the world requires from those who are not ready to face the challenges. Not only this provides successful graduates with the opportunity to study abroad, but also prepares highly competitive specialists who will be ready to face the modern global problems humanity endures.

In conclusion, due to popularisation of universitites competition mounts day by day, and, despite having a negative side, the development can be of help to prepare great specialists who will contribute to society.