Computers can now quickly and accurately translate languages, making learning a foreign language unnecessary. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

disagree?

With the advancement of technology, most languages can be translated by computers quickly and accurately and lead to less demand to learn foreign languages. It has become a subject of debate in recent years. In my opinion, language learning remains a skill in today’s world and should be maintained for both cultural and cognitive reasons.

The main reason for learning a foreign language is that it enhances cognitive abilities. A person who is multilingual has problem solving skill, improved memory and a wider perspective. The process of learning something improves one’s ability to multitasking and strengthens brain function. In contrast, relying on smart machines can reduce flexibility of mental and weaken our memory. Additionally, language is an essential part of cultural identity.

However, it is undeniable that translation technology makes communication convenient. It can help in some situations where learning a language is unnecessary and impractical. For instance, travelers can use translation apps easily to navigate foreign countries. Moreover, auto-translations sometimes cannot catch meanings of idioms, emotions, nuances in our language. As a result, trusting only technological devices leads to misunderstandings and a lack of cultural depth in communication.

By way of conclusion, while computers have revolutionized language translation, they cannot replace the benefits of learning a foreign language. So, in spite of technological advancements, learning foreign languages remains essential