Computers today can translate languages quickly and accurately; therefore, it is a waste of time to learn a foreign language. Do you agree or disagree?

With the availability of advanced translating platforms in this contemporary era, learning foreign languages is being considered less and less significant. While this standpoint can be valid with merely comprehensive tasks, I believe learning language still retains its potent roles in the holistic development of individuals.

Proponents of the given sentiment highlight the effective and prompt usages of translating tools in mundane daily circumstances. For example, tourists now might find it easier to communicate basically while traveling abroad with the assistance of these cutting-edge technologies. Reading online foreign articles, and studies, likewise, could be interpreted with just a mouse click, facilitating the reading processes for non-native individuals. Nevertheless, the utilizing of this equipment to translate might, more or less, hinder the nature and seamlessness of prolonged and in-depth conversations given their potential glitches or delayed responses.

However, despite the aforementioned benefits, I am of the opinion that it is absurd to undermine the need to adopt new languages. This is because, initially, linguistic aspects link strongly with cultures and traditions; therefore, not only does learning language help people understand the contents but it also gains valuable insights about related-cultural meanings, promoting immersion into newfound communities. Furthermore, the process of learning any language could also substantially bolster people’s cognition. To put it simply, the critical thinking and improvised skills of learners can become better through the efforts to form sentences and apply them in practical contexts.

In conclusion, although translating tools can effectively deal with simple situations, the total denial of the need to study language is imprudent, regarding the possibly decreased communicational quality caused by this equipment as well as the positive growth of mental capabilities and cultural knowledge impulsed by learning languages. Technology should only be seen as assistance in people’s work.