"Corporal punishment should be allowed in school". How far do you agree/disagree with this statement?

It is often argued that corporal punishments should be allowed in school in order to stop students from misbehaving in school. Although imposing severe punishments on students is one solution to prohibit students from misbehaving, there are also alternative ways to reduce these problems. From my perspective, even though it can be an effective deterrent, it can also be counter-productive and could lead to long-term mental side effects on the student in the near future.

Some people may argue that if corporal punishments were allowed in schools, teachers would be more likely to be able to deter misbehavior in classrooms. Students would avoid disruptive actions to avoid being punished. Sadly, some countries like Thailand have laws against teachers using violence towards their students within educational zones. This may mean that students are not trying to avoid misbehaving since they might think that their actions may not have any consequences at all which increases disruption within the classroom. Were corporal punishments allowed in schools, the behavior of students would be much easier to control.

For others, spanking may not be the only solution to misbehavior in schools. One reason for this is that it may cause emotional trauma and further resentment which could potentially lead to long-term psychological harm. Studies show corporal punishment is linked to increased aggression and mental health issues in children which could bring about worse behaviors when the student gets older. Students may experience anxiety, low self-esteem, or aggression and their stress levels could increase faster than those who haven’t experienced corporal punishment when they enter university. If corporal punishment is not allowed, the number of cases of depression within teenagers will most likely reduce.

In conclusion, I strongly disagree that corporal punishment should be used to prohibit the misbehavior of children within schools. There are better alternatives in which this problem could be solved such as teaching students the consequences of their actions with reason. Were this method to be used on students, they would be more likely to remember their mistakes more and not repeat it on next occasions.