Some people believe that in the future, most cities will become unlivable due to pollution and overcrowding. Others think technological innovation will solve these problems. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

It is often argued that the majority of large cities will no longer be ideal areas to settle in due to environmental problems and overpopulation, while other people assume that these issues will be tackled by advanced technologies. This essay will discuss both viewpoints before giving my own opinion.

Advocates of the first opinion believe that it is hard for residents to continue living in the tremendous environments of cities in the future. The main reason for this view is that the urbanization rate is on the rise, and people who live in rural areas are encouraged by governments to move into urban areas for greater opportunities for jobs and education. As a result, more means of transportation and other public infrastructure are constructed to meet citizens’ demands. Another convincing reason is that people’s mental conditions can be degraded over time. Sources of loud noise from vehicles and the lack of green space cause higher levels of stress and psychological problems among residents.

However, the opposing group claims that cutting-edge technologies will successfully resolve these challenges. The use of electric vehicles and renewable energy sources can significantly lower carbon emissions, while advanced AI systems can manage traffic and waste more effectively. A good example is Singapore, which applies AI-driven systems integrated with green technology to traffic management. Consequently, large cities in the future not only become livable spaces but also are relentlessly improved to be more sustainable and environmentally friendly.

In conclusion, although both points of view are appropriate to some extent, I believe that overpopulation and the environment are the two vital problems, which require policies and particular methods from governments that merely technological innovation cannot entirely deal with.