Some people believe that in the future, most cities will become unlivable due to pollution and overcrowding. Others think technological innovation will solve these problems. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

There is a debate over the livability of cities in the future. While some believe that overpopulation and poor air quality will make cities unlivable, I believe that technological development and improved infrastructure will make it possible.

On the one hand, it could be argued that increased urbanization will cause overcrowding and make cities unlivable. In many cases, people from rural areas immigrate to cities due to a lack of work or to improve their education, hoping for better conditions. As a result, public transport will become overcrowded, and housing will become unaffordable. Another reason is that excessive urbanization leads to poor mental health due to noise pollution and a lack of green spaces for rest. With the population increase, too many cars will cause noise and air pollution. In addition, a lack of green space can lead to higher stress levels as well as mental health problems.

Despite these arguments, I side with those who believe that technological development and improved urban infrastructure will make cities livable even decades from now. With advancing technology and a trend toward remote work, governments have a greater chance of finding effective solutions to overcrowding. For example, modifications such as solar panels on roofs and electric buses will no longer be rare. Another compelling reason is that many employees will be able to work from home due to higher-quality video calls and increased internet speeds. In other words, workers would no longer need to live in cities to work for urban companies. Therefore, problems such as overcrowded public transport and rush-hour traffic jams will be solved.

In conclusion, although overcrowded urban areas and unaffordable housing will make cities harder to live in, I believe that technology and remote work will solve those problems.