Should wealthy nations be required to share their wealth among poorer nations by providing such thing as food and education? Or is It the responsibility of the governments of poorer nations to look after their citizens themselves?

Wealth inequality between nations has been a global issue in the long run. While some people believe that wealthy countries should be obliged to support low-income countries by providing essential resources such as food and education, others argue that governments of poorer countries should take full responsibility for their own citizens. In my opinion, although international assistance is important, the primary responsibility lies with the governments of poorer nations due to avoid dependency and for sustainable growth.

It is a fact that many developed countries may provide financial aid for the sake of poorer citizens specially for basic needs which cannot be fulfilled by themselves, such as food and education. This may adversely affect the developing countries since all the citizens may discourage for self-reliance and relying on aid of other nations. For example, Uganda one of the poorer countries in Africa seeking aids from wealthy countries over the long term and their confidence to stand alone and overcome the poverty as a nation is still questionable. When poorer nations expect continuous assistance, governments may lack motivation to implement necessary reforms such as improving governance, reducing corruption, and strengthening economic policies. Hence government has main responsibility by providing strong leadership and effective planning to develop the nation.

In addition to that, wealthy nations may provide limited humanitarian assistance during crises such as natural disasters or famine and they should not be expected to permanently support other countries. The responsibility for improving citizens’ living standards ultimately lies with national governments, which must use their own resources more efficiently and implement effective development strategies for sustainable growth. For example, Singapore one of countries where limited natural resources have strong domestic leadership and planning to more sustainable the country than long term reliance on aid.

In conclusion, while developed countries assistance are beneficial for some urgent, specific situations, government of the economically weaker nations have the prime responsibility to build up the nation to avoid of dependency and for sustainable growth.