In many countries, there is increasing emphasis on STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics) education. To what extent do you agree that this focus overshadows the importance of humanities subjects like history, literature, and philosophy? Provide your own opinion.

One of the widely discussed issues nowadays is about a huge developing of emphasis on STEM education which is consist of Science,Technology,Engineering,Mathematics. Now people are becoming to realize that concentration on this neglects the importance of art skills and humanities which is essential for developing people’s ability to understanding, creativity and critical thinking. From my perspective, I totally agree with this statement.

To begin with, it is well known that today is the era of modern technology. What I mean here is that technology is flourishing nowadays, and mainly because of this in the future it will be important to prioritise STEM education. One of the main reasons behind that is to add new subjects according to technology education. Take for example, students from universities would be required to study computer science, or at least to know the basic fundamentals if they are in thought that they do not need it.

Looking from another angle, it can be argued that as arts and humanities STEM education enrich students’ skills like critical thinking and creativity. That is to say, undergraduates studying science or technology can think at one level as arty persons. For instance, students studying at Nazarbaev Intellectual School in Kazakhstan are taught to think critically even if they are mostly prioritised to study science subjects. However, due to their activity in all subjects they are very smart, even in art skills.

In conclusion, taking everything mentioned into account in our final analysis we can say that there is no harmful effects on studying STEM education by prioritising it.