In many countries, there is increasing emphasis on STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics) education. To what extent do you agree that this focus overshadows the importance of humanities subjects like history, literature, and philosophy? Provide your own opinion.

While some people believe that STEM education should be increased, others argue that this focus overshadows the importance of humanities subjects like history, literature and philosophy. This essay argues that although STEM led to the technological development, literature and philosophy made the human mind think for the first time.

On the one hand, philosophy is also a science, it made people question the origins of simple phenomenon like sunsets, the color of the sky and the size of earth; Even fundamental questions regarding existence and knowledge, a clear example of that is the famous quote of Descartes which said “I think, therefore I am”. As a result, it cannot be denied that humanities subjects are the primary source of knowledge which eventually created STEM fields.

On the other hand, science and mathematics played a significant role in changing our understanding of the whole world including natural phenomenons, planets and the entire galaxy. With the technological advancement we were able to identify mortal diseases like cancer by an X-ray machine. However, all these countless advantages would never materialise if humans didn’t start asking questions.

In conclusion, despite the long-terms benefits of STEM education, humanities subjects should also have an equal amount of attention in the educational system, so that students know from where it all started.