Some people think that a person can never understand the culture of a country unless they speak the language. Do you agree with this opinion?

It’s always challenging to adapt to people and customs when you’re a newcomer, especially with a low grasp of the language. Some people are convinced that it’s still possible to live in a country without speaking its language, however, I side with those who believe in the importance of communicating with locals using their dialect and vernacular to comprehend their culture and mentality.

One of the main reasons why speaking the language of country you move in or just visit plays a crucial role is simplifying your trip around the country. It makes the journey smoother and easier to converse with indigenous people who would love to see foreigners using the country’s mother tongue. People are generally more welcoming and take into account the fact that a visitor cares and puts effort into acquiring more intimate knowledge about the place they’re travelling. Additionally, the dwellers are more tend to communicate a remarkable amount of socially relevant information that can help during the trip. So, instead of getting the better of one’s journey on their own, people can rely on locals’ help and expand their understanding of the country’s principles.

Another essential reason why people should learn the language is a better awareness of customs and cultural norms that helps to adjust and adapt to a different culture. In a culturally diverse setting, it’s important to strengthen interaction; that’s why knowledge of the language can assist in it and lead to more beneficial communication. The mother tongue of the country can explain a lot about cultural values and ethnic views of its people and, eventually, reinforce cultural exchange.

In conclusion, I agree that speaking the language of another country is a core way to comprehend and look at the culture from locals’ perspective. It helps to not distort traditional values and build stronger views of the traditions and communities.