Some people think that a person can never understand the culture of a country unless they speak the language. Do you agree with this opinion?

Languages play an essential role in addressing a culture’s unique features and characteristics. A person who does not understand something in its native language may never truly understand the mindsets and thought processes of those who do. Culturally, things will have a deeper bond with those who know more of the minute details. Though, others may disagree and state that language is an easier pathway to learning a culture but it is not the only path. A country is so big that culture will vary in its substance and language will also start to differ by dialects. It may not be possible to fully understand an entire country’s culture when there are so many complications.

Those who argue that a person does not need to know the language to fully grasp the intention and meaning of a culture. Since culture could be said to be more spiritual and mindful rather than being a physical manifestation of objects and vibrating sounds. Seeing it, feeling it and appreciating the culture is what makes one be more connected to it. Thus, someone who may not speak the language could still be an expert.

Like, for example, there are English people with official expertise in African Tribe cultures that speak an unrecognized language. The utilization of other senses and drawings could be used to fill in the gaps of verbal communication. The approval of the native or original practitioners are adequate enough to describe one as understood of a culture. Another factor is the size of a country containing many regions that upheave different tongues, values, and messages. In order to understand all the sub-cultures in a culture of a nation, knowing a language will not be as necessary and useful as it may seem. Henceforth, a person with no linguistic skills could be able to elicit an understanding of a national culture.

On the contrary, someone may not see the cultural implications due to them being limited by the language barrier. A phrase in Chinese may have a totally different meaning and connotation compared to western languages. People may replace the context in cultures with their own biases or beliefs hence altering the definitions. Humans cannot be rid of unneutral personal alliances in our head so cultures will be vindicated in most cases. The emotional connection will not be as strong as the language-speakers. They may obtain knowledge on the simpler parts of a culture. And, one may classify that as good enough.

Conclusively speaking, my answer would be that it is possible to understand a culture without having to know its languages. As I am Chinese-Cambodian, yet I do not speak or understand Mandarin very well. But, I still practice my culture the same way my ancestors did, who did know Mandarin on an advanced level. Although, I will never reach the same level of understanding the culture. It is not necessary as long as you respect and practice the culture with care and dignity.