Corruption has been a thorny issue in Indonesia. What are the primary causes of this? What measures can be taken to overcome this?

Indonesia has been an independent country for years; however, this nation has not free from corruption that is always be the primary issue. This essay provides the main reasons of corruption and how to address this problem.

Corruption is a rampant practice in the pursuit of personal’s wealth and prosperity, not only at level of government, but also at level of corporation and citizen. This has become a part of Indonesia’s modern culture and considered as a normal action. Ex ministry of Marine Affairs and Fisheries is a renowned example of corruption case. He spent country’s money on his family’s necessities. Another example for dishonesty at level of organization and business is quality degradation of projects in order to earn more profit. At level of citizens may be when children deceit their parents by taking some money from their college tuitions.

There are several solutions to eliminate practice of corruption in Indonesia. One of them is Corruption Eradication Commission, serving as a cornerstone in an effort to suppressing the number of corruptor at governmental level. Another approach to tackle this problem is through transparency in the public policy maker or the office-holder. This underscore people’s awareness and monitoring toward occurrent policies. Accordingly, Indonesia’s government established an institution named Ombudsman to aid people’s aspirations when practice of corruptions are detected.

To conclude, corruption is still positioned as prominence issue, although various attempt has been taken in the quest for corruption elimination from Indonesia. Therefore, each individuals share a crucial role to keep consistency in the implementation of honesty and integrity.