Corruption has been a thorny issue in Indonesia. What are the primary causes of this? What measures can be taken to overcome this?

In Indonesia, corruption has become a very problematic issue that still continues to happen. This can be the result because the penalty system in our country for corruption is still light and the level of public sector wages is inappropriate; however, there are some actions that we can take to prevent this matter.

There are several reasons why corruption cases are still high in Indonesia. Firstly, the penalty that is given to the corruptors is not appropriate. As a result, people tend to keep doing it without worrying about getting severe punishment. For example, a politician who gets a bribe with billions of rupiah will get only a maximum 20-year prison sentence and pay five million rupiah. Another reason why people commit corruption is that the wages that they get by working, especially in public institutions, are unsuitable. This will let them commit bribes in order to get more money.

Nevertheless, there are some solutions to combat these issues. The government, as the lawmaker, should make stricter and more appropriate rules toward corruptors based on the heavy crimes they are involved in. Consequently, other workers are more likely to think twice before deciding to commit the same crime. Furthermore, the government should establish an appropriate minimum wage for workers that is fair for them. For example, teachers in remote areas deserve a better salary than those who work in the big city because their work is more challenging and has many limitations.

To conclude, corruption can be caused by several factors, such as the unfair penalties given to corruptors and the wages that workers get. And feasible solutions that the government can take by making effective policies in the punishment and in the minimum salary of workers.