Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world. Do you think this is a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Due to a phenomenon called globalization, countries are becoming more and more similar. This is because people are buying the same products no matter the country you are in.

The position of some people is that sharing these common products with other countries may be beneficial. But we have to consider the consequences globalization may cause, like the loss of culture, not to mention the overpriced international brands have.

I understand why people think that becoming similar can have their pros. One point is that some brands find it beneficial to expand their business. Another point is that buying the same products could indeed lead us to have more common things when interacting with international people. Nowadays, thanks to social media I have the same bottle as my Italian friend which gave us something to talk about.

Nevertheless, if every country had the same products, differences wouldn’t exist at all which leads to loss of culture and diversity. Once my dad told me that years ago he used to buy traditional coffee with milk, downtown and now all he can find is Starbucks coffee. In addition, international products are considerably more expensive, statistics say products are around 35% more costly, which it’s not beneficial for locals.

It is my belief that besides the fact that not everyone is able to get to these products, I don’t think globalization is worth it, if having diversity all around the world in products and preferences it’s the cost.