Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world. Do you think this is a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

After the advent of globalization, trade between different countries have become easier and more accessible. For example, a person can conviniently buy goods from America sitting in India, using the internet. This is why we tend to see the same products everywhere which makes so many countries look similar in some ways.

I believe that this is a positive development because, customers can get a huge exposure in terms of the types, quality, pricing and functionality of the products available all around the globe. This not only helps them to make an informed decision but also make sure that they are not being scammed and charged unreasonably high prices. In my experience I have always preferred to buy Iphones from the USA rather than India, because of the huge price difference for the exact same phone in two different places.

Even though there are numerous benefits for the consumers, there is a huge downside that the local manufacturers have to face, when foriegn goods enter into their markets with so much ease. In this scenerio, the competition would increase drastically, bringing down the profitability of the firms which would consequently affect the economy due to the imbalance between the demand and supply.

Overall, globalization might be a positive change for the buyers but it can have some negative outcomes for the sellers, if there are no restrictions or limitations kept on the trade. Hence, the government of every country should be instrumental in establishing guidelines for healthy trade practices which can safeguard the sellers and also protect the rights of the buyers.