Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world. Do you think this is a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Due to a phenomenon called globalization, countries are becoming more and more similar every day, owing to the fact that citizens all around the world have access to the same products. Some people think it is good for their development because individuals can have more in common with foreigners and some brands significantly benefit from this. However, it is my belief that globalization causes more negative than positive impact on society.

First of all, we have to face the loss and standardization of culture. Let me explain, if everyone in the world could buy the exact same things, everything around us would look similar (our houses, schools, our clothes), which would make our world boring. Personally, I love the rich culture of my country and I really enjoy showing it to people who live abroad. However, I also love traveling and getting to know other cultures, because I find all the differences beautiful.

Another point to consider is that because of the demand of foreign products, these companies need more and more stores in our country. The consequences are the movement of local businesses and the significant rise of prices. For example, my dad told me that years ago he used to buy local coffee at downtown, but now all he can find is Starbucks coffee, which is more expensive.

My opinion is that globalization is more a negative phenomenon than a positive one. Therefore, it is important to try to consume local products and foment our culture in order to enjoy and share our differences all around the world.