Countries spend a large amount of money hosting international sporting events.Do the advantages of hosting such events outweigh the disadvantages?

Whether an international event should be conducted in a country remains a widely debated issue. Some people argue that hosting an international sports event might be helpful for the country, whereas others believe it would bring financial losses and disruption for the country. In my opinion, hosting a global sports event might be more beneficial than the drawbacks of organizing it.

Hosting an international games in the country would bring national recognition all over the globe. The people around the world not know about the country would be excited and fascinated by the new culture and people of that country. Along with that, the economic growth of the country would increase. The individuals coming from different countries to watch the games would want to explore other places in the country, which would boost tourism in the country. For instance, an article was printed in The Times of India newspaper, which wrote about the advantages a country would have if it hosted the global games in the country.

On the other hand, hosting a worldwide athletic competition might disrupt the people living in that area. The event might cause heavy traffic for the people residing in the community where the event is held. In addition, there are chances of huge financial debt because the venues that are created for the games might not be used again frequently. For example, a football stadium was built for the sole purpose of hosting the games, but in the future, the chances of using that stadium might reduce, which would lead to financial debts for the country.

In conclusion, hosting a worldwide sport competition has its pros and cons. But, from my perspective, the advantages of organizing the event outweigh the drawbacks of not conducting it.