Countries with a long average working time are more economically successful, but they are also likely to suffer from negative social consequences. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

The discussion about whether people who live in countries with excessive working hours suffer from negative social results, albeit having better economical conditions has become a debatable issue in our modern society. Personally, I believe that long working hours affect people in many ways, especially socially. I feel this way for several reasons, which I will explain in my following essay.

To begin with, the economical success of countries directly comes from the volume of their production. It is undeniable that there is a strong and linear relation between production volume and working hours of employees. Employers generally take this relation into consideration and push their employees to work longer hours so that their incomes improve in line with it although there is another way for it such as focusing on improving efficiency of their works they have been doing.

From the point of view of employees, workers who are exposed to those excessive burden are likely affected unpleasingly. The more time they spend in the work means the less time for their loved ones and social circles. My experience is a good example for this, when I was working as an engineer in a shipyard, I had to work six days in a week. In the long run, my social environment was badly-affected and I started to feel isolated and depressed, which led to a considerable drop in my performance. Furthermore, long working hours likely cause the drop in worker’s efficiency, which very likely strike the gains of working immensely. For this reason, people should have enough time to socialize, stay motivated and efficient, and keep their mind refreshed.

In conclusion, even though pushing individuals to work immensely brings economical benefits, it harms the efficiency of work as it puts workers in a bad situation in which people stay out of their social environment, leading them to feel depressed, demotivated, and isolated. The companies in those countries should take this into consideration to improve their success and maintain their employees’s well-being.