Courses and general online study have recently become very popular. However, some people still prefer to attend classes in person. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Online learning is growing in popularity, attracting more and more students. Despite this, there are still some people who prefer the traditional mode of learning over online classes. I personally lean towards in-person classes, even though I acknowledge online learning does have some merits.

On the one hand, online learning entails a number of benefits, drawing in many learners. The primary advantage of this form of education lies in its convenience. Online classes are generally more convenient due to their accessibility in terms of cost and location, allowing a great number of people to receive high-quality education with ease. What makes these classes even more convenient is the fact that no time and effort is expended on commuting, thus enabling online learners to become involved in more activities outside their studies such as acquiring a new skill or tending to household duties. Online learning is also socially liberating: students do not have to worry about their outfits and how to fit in with other people. This eliminates the potential side-effects of social engagement, redirecting more focus on one’s studies.

I am, however, one of the advocates of face-to-face learning as I believe this mode of learning yields better results. Firstly, the physical presence of a teacher commands attention and reinforces discipline, both of which are essential to student acquisition. In fact, in-person learners have been found to do significantly better on their exams than online learners, who tend to be easily distracted by their electronic devices or non-academic responsibilities and take their assignments lightly. Furthermore, traditional classes offer genuine social engagement, which online classes lack inherently. Social interactions in the real world, in turn, fend off mental setbacks from studying such as depression, anxiety, and stress, enabling students to stay motivated and more likely to complete their courses.

In conclusion, online learning, indeed, confers several benefits to the learner, adding to its popularity. Regardless, I am more drawn to the practical upsides of the traditional mode of learning like better academic results and real-world interactions.