Creative artists should be given freedom to express their ideas through words, pictures, music or films. Some people nevertheless think that the government should restrict artists’ freedom of expression. To what extent do you agree or disagree

For the time being, freedom of expression has always been a topic of interest. While some claim that artists ought to be given liberty to show their ideas through artworks like pictures, music or films, the opposite makes a statement that the authorities should limit the expression of the artists. From my point of view, I believe that the government should introduce some legislation to control artists, but still give them their own space to create innovatively.

Undisputedly, it is reasonable that artists ought to be controlled by the authorities in some cases. There is a wide range of negative works that can deliver messages which do harm people who lack cognitive development, especially adolescents and children. For instance, some underground music whose lyrics comprise a lot of swear words and rude meanings, which can be accessed and learned easily by toddlers. Hence, artists should be controlled to avoid delivering negative messages to the community.

While the redeeming feature of restricting artists is widely acknowledged, creative artists should be given the liberty to express their own ideas to people. Additionally, when artists have the freedom to show their words, they can depict an extremely realistic life with a lot of aspects that can deliver to the community the dark inside their life in a plain way. For example, a Korean movie “ Parasite” by Bong Joon-ho was awarded Oscars 28 in 2020, which outlines the darkest side of slum areas in Korea. As a result, it is undeniable that artists who are free to express their ideas can help people see numerous facets of life.

In conclusion, despite showing the dark side of the world, artists still ought to be limited to protect people, especially those who lack cognitive development.