Culture and traditions change from generation to generation. Why does this happen? What can be done to change it?

Traditions and cultures have been changing in every society throughout human history. Individuals have various opinions on why this happens and how it can be prevented. Many of them believe that society, including families and governments, does not take enough responsibility in intergenerational knowledge transfer.

Globalization often leads to cultural diffusion, which reduces a nation’s sense of belonging. People of different backgrounds mix in specific regions, such as the USA, which, in turn, forms a “melting pot”. Subsequently, second-generation immigrants lose touch with their roots, as their parents are not actively engaged in cultural transmission. Moreover, using the country’s official language as the primary means for communication can weaken ethnolinguistic identity in the case of many ethnic minorities. The reason for that is not only insufficient families’ involvement, but also governments’ lack of participation in preservation of the heritage of such groups. For example, Russified Finno-Ugric peoples, such as Mari and Komi, have been facing the displacement of culture for centuries.

However, there are still some actions that can be taken to prevent cultural erosion. First of all, semiotic traditions should be ubiquitous – present in families, local schools, and folk festivals – to help people become more imbued with their national identity. Secondly, governments should focus more on hindering cultural decline. In particular, languages of indigenous origins need to be promoted widely. Furthermore, public authorities should sponsor folk events, historic sites, and exhibitions where traditional utensils and attire can be displayed.

From my perspective, heritage conservation is not only the duty of authorities, but also of each person. People can contribute by teaching younger generations traditional customs, handicrafts, or local stories. However, well-planned governments’ initiatives can also positively affect children’s encouragement to explore their roots, which, in turn, could have a great impact on maintaining communities’ identities.

To conclude, cultural fusion is a widespread phenomenon at present. Every person is accountable for actions to avert this process, and specific measures are needed to disseminate cultural values.