Currently there is a trend towards the use of alternative forms of medicine. However, at best these methods are ineffective, and at worst they may be dangerous. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Nowadays, people often use alternative medicine such as herbs or plants instead of the chemical one. However, this trend can lead to several health complications. I believe that it is better to use the actual medicine and ask for professional help than using the uncertain medicine.

Firstly, alternative medicine does not contain an exact dosage of medicine. Herbs and plants dosage usually depend on the size and the species of plants. Without further observation of the compositions of the plant, it can cause plenty of underdosage or overdosage cases. Moreover, without the assistance of a doctor, individuals can not calculate the precise dosage that they should consume. In some cases, the disease may worsen since it does not get a good treatment. For example, a person with an unhealthy liver, choosing herbs over medicine, had to get a liver transplant due to the less dosage of the medicine.

Furthermore, alternative medicine can contain hidden side effects. Some individuals’ bodies may not get used to alternative herbs, hence it possibly creates complications to the disease. At worst, the side effects can lead to death if it is not treated well. For instance, a person with a long-term headache who chooses to consume traditional herbs may get a digestion problem since there are some dangerous substances contained in herbs.

In conclusion, the true medicine is more reliable than the alternative form since it provides an exact dosage and undangerous side effects. With the help of professional medicines, patients can get excellent treatments and recover from their sickness.