Debates about whether environmental issues should be solved globally or nationally

Environmental problems have been a pressing issue for many decades, therefore it is argued by some that these concerns should be solved globally, while others believe that each country should deal with them internationally. This essay will analyze both viewpoints and provide a reasoned conclusion.

Proponents of the first perspective hold the fact that most of the environmental challenges such as: climate change, air pollution, and deforestation are transboundary problems. As an example, greenhouse gas emissions from one country can negatively affect the entire planet, hence it is considered vital to tackle these issues collectively through international collaboration. Richer countries can support developing countries by sharing their resources, enhanced technologies, and extensive knowledge through global meetings and agreements.

On the other hand, it is essential for national governments to take primary responsibility on the matter. Every country faces its own unique ecological issues based on several factors such as: geography, level of development and economic conditions. Additionally, it is easier for individual authorities to assess their specific ecological imbalance through implementing local policies, whether it is banning the use of plastic bags, encouraging sustainable products, conserving forests and water resources or regulating factories emissions. Moreover, relying on worldwide cooperation can often be a slow process and rise some political complications.

In essence, while it is essential for individual countries to take action, they must be supported by the developed nations. Climate-related issues are too large and interconnected to be solved by countries acting in isolation, I believe that an effective strategy to mitigate the matter is a combination of both international collaboration and national responsibility.