Deforestation caused by human activity is happening in many parts of the world, with serious results for the environment. What do you think can be done to solve this problem?

Deforestation has become a major environmental concern now, more than ever. With significant industrialisation of our community as a whole, there is an increasing demand of various by-products of trees such as paper, wood, glue and many more. Unfortunately, this bears its own harsh consequences.

Logging does not just disrupt various forms of plant and animal habitats, it is also responsible for a major share of pollution, global warming and hence weather changes.

Myriad solutions can be thought of to combat this potentially detrimental problem. To reduce deforestation, we must first become aware of the scale of its consequences. Therefore, awareness campaigns should be organised that especially focus on big industries that cause the bulk of tree felling.

Additionally, consumption of the products from this stream must be decreased, for example, use of electrical energy to displace conventional fuel in factories and railways. Moreover, technological revolution of this day and age can benefit us as it can be used to cut down paper waste in terms of computer-based exams and record keeping instead of their physical on-paper counterparts.

Policies on government levels should be implemented to preserve as much forest life as possible with penalties and fines put in place, if there is failure to comply. In addition, regular plantation drives should be organised in an attempt to make our environment sustainable.

Being responsible towards our environment is the key to combat this problem, whether it is reusing and recycling paper bags after a shopping trip or implementing laws and policies on a government level as no action is big or small, when taken towards the right cause.