Describe a place which is your favourite and why it is significant

Back in the day, I never thought I would be here – sitting in the exact same place that once changed my whole mindset. Little did I know that I would find this place somewhere in the depths of such a distant but, at the same time, appealing country: Japan. But let’s take it one step at a time.

Being an avid traveller, I always tried to catch every opportunity to jet around the globe. Japan happened to be the country that best suited my needs, with its mix of modern and historical architecture which attracts millions of people every year.Once I was forced to take a slightly longer route on my way to the hotel and, truth be told, I can’t even explain how happy I am that I did it. Not only did I enjoy the traditional scenic spots with their rivers and cherry trees passing by, but I also found a hidden gem – an old tea shop – situated not far from the place where I lived. Just by looking at that, one can say it reminds them of some Edo era since the design and materials bring us back to Medieval times. I must also add, that the owner of this place was the kindest person I’ve never met in my whole life. Listening to his story and how hard it was for him to run his business in times when the economy was collapsing, was something that made me rethink my whole life.

The reason why this local shop has a special place in my heart is because of the memories it brought as if I were there again – talking with that old man about the ultimate happiness and what my own perspective of “ikigai” is. I was so engrossed in the culture that I didn’t even notice how fast my language skills were improved as well as being grown as a person myself. What I learned from that conversation is that when the world itself is drowning in blur, the most essential thing focus on things that really matter.

The impact this place had on me was colossal. Visiting places like this can have a great impact on our lives. Just remember to slow down and feel content to notice the beauty of architecture around you.