Describe the advantages and disadvantages of tourism in the modern world. Do you think that benefits of tourism outweight its drawbacks?

Nowadays, the travel industry greatly affects the world in both advantages and disadvantages. From my point of view, the pros of traveling prevail over the cons.

The core advantage of the tourism industry is to boost the local economy. Tourists pay fees for tourist sites, including entrance fees, accommodation such as hotels, homestays, costs for food, transportation, and souvenirs. Creating job opportunities is also a plus. The travel industry creates a great demand for human resources in fields such as hotel, restaurant, transportation, and tour guide. Besides, forms of travel are also increasingly diverse. Instead of choosing resorts to rest and relax, visitors can also choose to experience cultures with the locals, adventure travel such as mountain climbing and camping in the forest to immerse yourself in nature. Furthermore, with just a few clicks, travelers can find information about their destinations, hotels, and activities on online platforms like Google, Booking.com. This helps you plan your trip in more detail, and be more proactive.

However, tourism is not completely beneficial. There are some negative aspects that should be taken into consideration. At famous tourist destinations, overcrowding of travelers leads to deterioration of infrastructure. Ancient buildings, temples and monuments struggle to cope with a vast amount of visitor’s traffic and get damaged. Also, the large number of tourists can cause environmental problems. The amount of waste from vacationers such as personal items, food cans, leftovers, noise, and air pollution from vehicles also have negative impacts on the environment. Moreover, travelers also bring expensive things like cameras, smartphones, jewelry, increasing their attractiveness to criminals. This leads to activities such as theft, fraud or, more importantly, a travel accident. But we can overcome these disadvantages through developing sustainable tourism, raising awareness of environmental protection, and ensuring safety for tourists.