Despite better access to education, some adults are not able to read or write. What are the main disadvantages of this? What can be done to solve this problem?

Even though the accessibility of education has increased substantially all over the world, there are still some illiterate grown-ups in society. Major drawbacks of this tendency are risk of having stagnant economy and educational challenges of next generations. To counteract this problem, governments should step in by providing financial support to low-income families and applying strict control mechanisms on absence rates of students.

Main disadvantage associated with high illiteracy rate is the detrimental impact it has on country’s economy. People who can’t read or write properly are not able to join the workforce and generate any added value in some field, thus, the economical growth becomes hard to be achieved. Another negative aspect is definitely related to the education of the offspring of non-literate. The children of those who are not literate will not be able to get any support from their parents when they face an obstacle during their homework, or when they need to learn some concept deeply, therefore they will fall behind with their studies.

To address the increasing illiteracy level in society, governments must play the key role by providing the low-income families with enough financial resources to support their children’s education. Most parents force their kids to start working in a full-time job from early ages due to the shortage of family budget, which results in youngsters not being able to attend schools and acquire elementary skills. For that reason, getting a monetary incentive from government might increase motivation for sending children to classes. The other viable remedy could be strict assesments by governmental institutions on schools for student absence figures and punish or fine the families who’se children frequently miss the classes.

To sum up, downsides of having significant number of illiterate adults are non-growing economy as a result of lack of workforce, and poor educational transfer across generations; however, this negative tendency can be countered by actions by government such as monetary support to poor families for their children’s education, and stringent audits on attendance numbers.