Despite clear warnings from climate scientists, few people are changing their habits. Why is this the case? What can be done to encourage people to protect the environment?

Nowadays, an increasing number of people are concerned about the fact that, despite clear warnings from climate scientists, only a small proportion of individuals are willing to change their daily habits to protect the environment. While I accept that many people are aware of the serious environmental problems we are facing, I would argue that a lack of motivation and practical solutions prevents them from taking real action, and there are several ways to encourage more environmentally friendly behavior.

On the one hand, it can be argued that there are two primary reasons why many people are aware of the serious environmental problems we are facing. Firstly, people do not take the problems personally, for example, current warnings all put the stress on damages to future generations can help many people do not take it personally; mindset of “it’s just this time others are doing it too”. Secondly, should create more lack of a convenient and cheap solution, many sustainable products are costly (water tumblers are way too expensive compared to a free plastic cup when buying drinks, sustainable clothes are more expensive than fast fashion…), many countries do not have a reuse and a recycle program.

On the other hand, I am of the opinion that the importance of a lack of motivation and practical solutions prevents them from taking real action, and there are several ways to encourage more environmentally friendly behavior must not be underestimated. Firstly, restaurants and shops need to offer discount and reward points to encourage people to change their habits, for example that, coffee shops offer discounts when BYOB (bring your own bottle), supermarkets offer free canvas groceries bag or charge extra for each plastic bag used, makeup brands offer vouchers when customers return used packaging (serum bottles, lotion jars, lipstick tubes…). Secondly, serious fines if caught littering or tax on single-used products, introduce bans for businesses involving in unsustainable practices.

In conclusion, although I acknowledge that many people are aware of the serious environmental problems we are facing, I would contend that a lack of motivation and practical solutions prevents them from taking real action, and there are several ways to encourage more environmentally friendly behavior. A balance should be struck between two to achieve the best outcome.