Differences between countries are becoming less evident. Nowadays, people are watching the same films, fashion, brand, advertisements and TV channels. To what extent do the disadvantages of this outweigh the advantages?

In this day and age, people tend to keen on following the same movies, brands, fashion, and advertisement, and this tendency lead to the similarity between countries in the world. In my opinion, the disadvantages of this trend outweight the advantages.

On the one hand, having similar things to share can foster the cultural exchange between countries. This is because, when people follow the same standard, they have more opportunities to gain a deeper insight into the culture of other countries, and this may bolster the cultural homogeniety. Consequently, they will have more chance to talk with more people from all walks of life. Furthermore, sense of belonging and community may be improved if countries pursue similar interest. This is perfectly exemplified in case of worker, who work abroad, this trend prevents them from feeling of loneliness and isolation. As a result, they can share the taste with others without worrying about the difference of culture.

On the other hand, I believe that the country may loss of the unique nation’s identity if they follow the same standard. This is because, each country has it’s own culture, they passionate about promoting their host culture. Thus, if people prefer doing something like others, they may loss their cultural value. Moreover, the number of visitors may reduce, some people may not interested in visiting others nation as before. Since they can stay updated and broaden their knowledge via films, advertisement and TV channels instead of spending much money to do this.

In conclusion, while cultural exchange and people’s well-being can be fostered due to the similarity between countries, I believe that this trend may prevent people from exploring other countries and the loss of each nation’s identity.