Differences between countries are becoming less evident. Nowadays, people are watching the same films, fashion, brand, advertisements and TV channels. To what extent do the disadvantages of this outweigh the advantages?

Globalization has created an interconnected worldwide culture, in which people from different parts of the world share similar interests in cinema, TV, brands and fashion. Although this phenomenon can reduce friction between competing cultures, it can also erase cultural traits of minority groups. I believe that globalized media has more negative consequences than positive ones, and this essay will explain my reasons for this.

On one side of the discussion, the positive implication of cultural internationalization is that it helps to promote an integrated global society. Citizens from distinct countries with different societal values can enjoy popular international trends and participate together as an integrated society. To exemplify, major blockbusters are now released simultaneously in cinemas across the world, which allows people from different countries to communicate about the new films on the internet. Moreover, globalization reduces animosity between groups as people can see what they have in common. As an example, by communicating with each other, people can see they enjoy the same kinds of movies, clothing and books, thus integrating societies.

On the other side of this discussion, globalization is unwillingly promoting a cultural replacement in some parts of the world. Minor ethnic groups cannot compete with the overwhelmingly fast-paced global media industry, and this impacts the world’s diversity. For instance, movies and musical productions from developing countries do not reach global audiences as those from the United States. Additionally, people abandon their local customs preferring worldwide media in some extreme cases. For example, due to the influence of popular TV series, young individuals from Indonesian tribes are forgetting their traditions to celebrate Christmas.

In conclusion, despite its potential advantages, globalized media is erasing minor cultures across the globe. To minimize this problem, policies need to be put forward so that people can enjoy international trends, without forgetting their own local customs.