Differences between countries are becoming less evident. Nowadays, people are watching the same films, fashion, brand, advertisements and TV channels. To what extent do the disadvantages of this outweigh the advantages?

Due to the fact that, at present, individuals are provided with the same movies, advertisements, TV channels, fashions, and brands, differences between urban areas are becoming less evident. The drawbacks of this situation, such as loss of cultural diversity and mother tongue, in most cases, are more significant rather than its benefits.

The main benefit of less evident differences is cultural exchange. By way of explanation, since citizens from various countries are watching the same media and advertisements, it can encourage cultural exchange between nations. For example, if, in different sprawling cities or megapolises, people are watching Korean dramas, it can lead to shared interests among individuals, which is crucial for close-knit relationships with other nations. Hence, it can help reduce wars around the world and live in peace.

Nonetheless, despite the merits of this situation, there are considerable demerits such as loss of cultural diversity and language. Culture and language are the main heritages of nations since, first of all, they are tools of connection among people, and they provide traditions, customs, and even cuisines. The loss of them can lead to similarities among cities and citizens, wars, and rebellions. For instance, in the First World War, which gave the world a great expense, especially in terms of human death, people as well as countries were struggling with being in one nation since they did not want to lose their culture and mother tongue. Consequently, it means that similarities between cities can bring the world many problems and disadvantages.

In conclusion, although less evident differences between megapolises has the advantages, the disadvantages of this situation greatly outweigh.