Differences between countries become less evident each year. Nowadays, all over the world people share the same fashions, advertising, brands, eating habits and TV channels. Do the disadvantages of this trend outweigh the advantages?

In this day and age, with the rapid pace of globalization, barriers between nations have been gradually overcome as a result of individuals’ engagement in similar aspects of life, such as in media and eating habits. However, skeptics are concerned about the unforeseen downsides of this phenomenon. Considering both sides, while possible drawbacks still exist, I believe that the advantages of cultural homogeneity hold more value.

To begin with, when countries’ differences are becoming blurred, the gap between classes and races can be substantially reduced. To specify, with the accessibility to the same facilities, problems impoverished individuals once struggled with can be mitigated, prompting their involvement in a better life. Additionally, people from various regions of the world will probably gain a more profound insight into each other’s cultural characteristics now that they share similar social media and TV channels. Hence, close-knit bonds between races emerge as a result.

Not only does cultural homogeneity have positive effects on citizens but it also plays a pivotal role in enhancing a country’s economy. This can be witnessed in international trade, which offers local products and items the opportunity to be exported, thus assisting the nation in gaining a worldwide reputation.

However, the possible risk of losing cultural identity is what governments should be vigilant about before deciding to adopt a uniform society. Such concern may stem from the fact that more and more youngsters have a tendency to be strongly influenced by Western cultures through watching movies and the admiration of their lifestyles. With that being the case, national characters can possibly be ignored, and then loss of cultural identity emerges as a repercussion.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that uniformity among nations has positively affected our society as a whole rather than harming it. Although disadvantages can be found in this phenomenon, the advantages of it seem to be more noteworthy.