digital communication technology such as email, instant messaging and social media has improved communication and connection between people. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the advancement of technology, it can be seen that modern platforms such as social media, online chatting websites, and mailing systems have brought people together. I totally agree with this statement as the network and communication between individuals or groups is easily possible from anywhere in the world.

There are various advantages in using digital platforms for communications. The first is speed. Within a fraction of a second messages and emails can be sent to anyone without waiting for any protocols or procedures as compared to the physical mediums of sending postcards or letters. Moreover, everything is free, and instant messaging platforms such as whatsapp, instagram have increased the comfort-levels of people because of their ease of handling. Secondly, there is no restriction in the type of data that can be shared now. Mailing platforms such as Gmail, Yahoo can be utilized to not only send information but also attach images, files, and videos as well.

On the other hand, though to a great extent digital mediums have fostered person-to-person links, it has its own cons as well. It is solely dependent on availability of proper internet connection and not every place is under the satellite radius to provide internet for it. Another aspect is that, nowadays there is a surge in the number of cyber-crimes especially through online-friends whose identity seem to be fake and can in turn cause threat to the victim. For example, blackmailing, online thefts, computer hacking , and breach of privacy are quite common these days.

To conclude, the digital mediums have bridged the gap between people and has made interactions easier but it should be used diligently and with proper knowledge of cyber-security.