Do the benefits of artificial intelligence outweigh the potential risks?

Artificial intelligence has become crucial in the contemporary world. AI is widely used all across the world in various fields, from programming to medicine. However, misuse of this service can lead to irreversible consequences, harming employment rates and misinforming individuals. Personally, I believe there are more potential disadvantages to AI than there are positives.

On the one hand, AI enhances efficiency in the manufacturing processes. For instance, AI-based machines can produce goods without humans being involved. It takes less effort and time for people to maintain AI-based machines than to provide an employee with all the working conditions, minimizing expenses on the manufacturing and human labor. Furthermore, AI has successfully integrated into studying process and is actively used among students. Many modern GPT-based bots, created particularly for studying, are able to summarize given information and implement it into short tests, helping learners to memorize material faster.

On the other hand, the profit of artificial intelligence has been questioned by many reporters, as it can be harmful for employment rates. In fact, AI has replaced many jobs ever since it was invented, for example, many IT specialists are now substituted with GPT bots that are capable of creating code faster than humans. Moreover, besides all the pros of AI use in studying, it tends to be used to complete even the simplest tasks. That manner decreases students’ academic achievements and accelerates laziness. Nonetheless, the main disadvantage of artificial intelligence is AI’s uncontrollable self-development. Researchers substantiate that several AI’s were spotted improving without human participation. The complexity of AI systems and the absence of sufficient human control can cause them to behave in unforeseen ways or produce decisions with unintended repercussions. These unpredictable outcomes could harm individuals, companies, or even society at large.

To sum up, I hold the opinion that the cons of AI outweigh the pros. It is irrefutable that artificial intelligence is most likely to succeed in many working fields. However, vulnerability of workplaces, uncontrollable self-development of AI, and misuse of the system are the main drawbacks of this invention.