Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? All students should be required to study, art and music is secondary school.

It is true that many schools consider art and music important and include them as mandatory subjects in the curriculum. However, I believe these subjects should be optional.

Firstly , there are many advantages for students if they study art and music at school. Learning art can enhance pupil’s creativity and imagination which are essential skills in many areas of life. By learning these skills they can develop self confidence. For example, choosing a proper colour for a painting is a type of skill. When students have certainty about their choice , they can easily boost self assurance. Secondly, studies show that engaging in artistic activities can enhance cognitive abilities, improve concentration and even support academic performance in other subjects like math and language.

However, requiring all students to study art and music might not be ideal for everyone. Some students may have stranger interests in other subjects such as science or sport and forcing them to study art or music could feel unnecessary. Instead of making it mandatory, schools could offer more flexible options allowing students to choose whether they want to pursue these subjects in depth or just have basic exposure. For instance , Thomas Jefferson High School for science and Technology ( USA) has a curriculum that emphasizes advanced sciences and engineering allowing students to take art or music only if they choose to. This approach helps students concentrate on subjects aligned with their career goals while still having the option to explore the arts if they wish .

In conclusion, although art and music have many benefits , schools should not make these subjects compulsory in the curriculum.