Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? High schools should allow students to study the courses that students want to study. Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

An ongoing debate about whether high schools agree their students to chose what courses to study is a better option is talk about many people nowadays. Some claimed that keep students learning what they should learn not what they want is better for them, while others said allow students to study the courses they want can benefit a lot. In my opinion, I agree the advantages of students choosing what they want to study will outweigh the disadvantages.

The opponents claimed that students need to expert on their main subjects. Because of the dramatically rising of population, the jobs were becoming harder to find. They said students can’t decide what they wanted to learn in their age, while the often changes of courses would led to high cost and didn’t learn well in one subject, and finally lost their competitions in society. Moreover, students may easily influent by their peers. For example, since students had freedom to chose what they want to learn, when their friends told them this was an interest course, most of them would chose it, although this course may not be helpful to their future.

These arguments, however, not fully correct. To begin with, allowed student to chose what they want to learn can cultivate the confidence by themselves. For instance, many students nowadays spent plenty of time studying at the subject they didn’t even interest in, and got the bad score in exam. Student who often experienced this would lost confidence in learning, also accumulated stress which may lead to burnout, while if students studied the subjects they wanted to learn, they would be confidence whether what score they got. Most importantly, students could know what is the area they really enjoy in, because of the wide range of experience. Finding the area students truly want to learn was vital than everything. Students could learning in this area for very long time, maybe it even would be the work for their entire life.

Although staying on the courses their parents or teacher want them to learn still had it benefits, I thought letting their students to chose what courses to study is better for them. Because of it can cultivate their confidence, and find the area where their truly enjoy.