Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Only people who earn a lot of money are successful. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Of late, leading social activists have raised concerns about judging people based on their outer looks and spread a noble message stating that they should never judge individuals by their outer appearance. I agree with the given notion and the reasons for my inclination will be explained in the following paragraphs.

Perhaps the first and foremost reason for supporting my viewpoint is the individual’s inner capacity such as thought process, vision, and intention. By this, I mean that person who belongs to a black community or backward society and has a positive mind-set and attitude for constructing a better economy for their country and people. Take, for example, Nelson Mandela, a black South African activist who worked hard for his people and became the first black prime minister of South Africa. Moreover, fat shaming is also a significant aspect where people are judged by society. This means that obese people are targeted by making personal comments which are generally made about them, as a result, it leads them to various conditions like depression or in worst case even suicide. For instance, obese youngsters around the world who have sensitive hearts are generally targeted by the comments which are made by communities on their outer personalities which instigate them to take some life-threatening steps. Finally, people do judge some individuals based on their skills and achievements rather than dressing sense. In other words, if a person wears simple attires, they are usually misjudged by society without knowing their real identity.Thus, judging people based on their outer appearance is not a viable option.

Conversely, opponents argue that people should be judged on their external appearance as it reflects a person’s mentality and the activities that he/she is involved in, such people with dubious personalities are generally judged as criminal-minded. Nevertheless, physical appearance is not that important, but their approach towards their work shows dedication and determination.

To conclude, it appears that, despite the claims made and supporting the idea that people should be judged on their physical appearances, the fact remains that they should be analysed on their skills and capacities.