Do you think students should be given the right to choose their subjects? Explain.

Students don’t have much freedom to choose their subjects in school. Some people argue that providing the right to choose a student’s subject will allow them to plan their dream with the specific goal from a young age. However, I believe no matter what dream students are aiming for, it is necessary to know the basic knowledge equally.

Knowing only about their dream is an ignorance to the world. Life does not always go as planned. There are many situations where students need to change their dream. However, if they only know about the subjects that are related to their original dream, it is hard to change your goal due to lack of knowledge they know about another way. Also knowing only about their interest would make communication with a friend who has a different dream, hard. People who had learned about world history would talk fluently about the world news presented, but for the people who have not, it could produce some challenges to continue the conversation. Knowing the general despite its relationship with their interest is essential for life.

While allowing students to choose their subject would ensure freedom, it also introduces some problems, such as students favoring subjects that are easier or enjoyable over the essential subjects. The preference toward classes that are easy to achieve good scores will take the chances away from the students who are really in need and cause unbalanced education. Moreover, when selecting subjects, if the classes that students want to join are at the same time, there is no way for students to take both without a time turner. When there is a subject class and a subject related to their interest at same time, it would cause uneven distribution of students in the classes. Rather than giving the right to choose their subject, having elective classes would allow students to explore the specific subject as it causes several problems.

While pursuing the dream is important, knowing generally about the mandatory subjects is also important. Having essential classes with elective classes for the specific topic would allow the students to have more freedom afterward when they want to change jobs or communicate with others with balanced education. As an individual, learning about the dream is enjoyable and fun, however I believe knowing will help my life in the future.