Do you think that the government should prioritise spending on public health over other sectors such as education and defence

The government policy in some cases brought a pro and con opinion. In relation to this, the government should determine what aspects should be prioritized. This essay believes that public health is not primary consideration, but there are other aspects which are essential such as education.

To begin with, public health is an individual responsibility. Governments are able to gain good public health if the citizens have a high level of awareness in taking care of their surroundings. For example, waste management is a problem in many cities in Indonesia. People are not educated on how to deal with household waste. The separation between organic and inorganic trash must be informed to citizens. In addition, a socialisation of waste management is not effective if the people have a low awareness. .

In correlation to this, education is one of the key to develop citizen’s mindset including their concern for public health. The consideration of the government is important to guarantee the quality of education, such as an equality of facilities from urban to rural areas and provide professional teachers. The program from the ministry of education must prioritise this goal. Another thing is education helps people to improve their living. For example, people are able to choose their occupation due to a good educational background and gain an appropriate salary. By having a good career, citizens can increase their family lives. Education has a big role in sustainability development because a better generation depends on how well education is maintained. A well-educated citizen brings a high awareness to society including their support on public health. Furthermore, a scholarship for citizens to have a good education abroad is also being established in Indonesia. It provides a large scale of professional workers and led Indonesia to become one of the world’s established countries.

In summary, it is important to prioritize education over public health because ensuring the education standard brings a big impact for nations and citizens.