Doctors in many countries are saying that people are not getting enough physical exercise. What are the causes of this? How it can be addressed?

In this day and age, people are considered to be less physically active by several doctors. This essay attempts to clarify the problems resulting from this phenomenon before outlining a multitude of viable solutions that should be adopted to mitigate it.

On the one hand, there are two primary reasons as to why people do not do enough physical exercise. One major justification is that individuals tend to be preoccupied with their work. This is because employees are more likely to concentrate on dedicating themselves to working for higher promotion or better remuneration so that they do not have much time left for personal development and extracurricular activities like exercising. This, therefore, reduces people’s agility, strength, and their overall mental well-being. Another rationale is that people are becoming inactive. When the society is becoming technologically advanced, people will be more addicted to using social media platforms such as Facebook, Instagram, and Messenger, which may take up hours of scrolling and hinder them from exercising, thereby leading them to be indolent, having a sedentary lifestyle, and being susceptible to health issues.

On the other hand, to combat this worrying trend, the following feasible steps should be taken. To commence with, workforces should cut down on the number of working hours, as it allows workers to have more leisure time for their personal priorities like their family or their physical engagement. Hence, this significantly enhances work efficiency and helps people maintain a work-life balance. In addition, individuals should be encouraged to take up sports or participate in more physical activities. For instance, in Vietnam, where a minority of people are overweight and obese, usually have some societal campaigns to propagate the advantages of going exercise that help motivate people to be more outgoing and encourage them to go to the fitness centers, gym for a better appearance and health improvements.

In conclusion, there are numerous underlying motives behind this negative tendency, and it is crucial that the aforementioned measures be implemented to deal with this issue.