Doctors in many countries are saying that people are not getting enough physical exercise. What do you think are the causes of this problem? How can it be addressed?

According to the healthcare specialists` opinion, a substantial part of the population fails to engage in sufficient physical activity as a part of daily life. This trend primarily stems from an increasingly sedentary lifestyle, particularly as a result of office-based work, that most individuals have. However, people can undertake various measures, such as prioritizing active modes of transport, to mitigate this problem.

Nowadays, a majority of individuals lead predominantly sedentary lifestyles due to the commitments connected with working from the office. Those, whose profession assumes an eight-hour working day, find themselves in front of a computer or stack of documents all day long. Thus, the responsibilities of the average office employee contribute to the deficiency of activity, even though it can entail various health problems. Furthermore, many office workers tend to bring work home, spending all weekends finishing their professional duties, then running out of time for sport or leisurely walk.

Notwithstanding these challenges, individuals, who struggle to find time for physical training, can easily address this problem by opting for bicycles or walking to get to work, instead of using cars. According to the latest medical surveys, the Netherlands, where bicycles take precedence over motorized transport, tops the world`s rating of the healthiest countries. Integrating active means of transport into daily routine not only saves time by reducing the necessity of supplementary physical activity, but also significantly improves health and physical fitness.

In conclusion, the deficiency in physical exercise in modern society is directly attributed to the extensive hours spent in sedentary work environments. Nevertheless, this issue can be addressed by promoting the incorporation of active modes of transport, such as cycling and walking, into individuals’ daily lives. The reduction in car usage in favor of bicycles not only contributes to a healthier lifestyle, but also results in a higher percentage of individuals achieving improved physical fitness.