Doctors recommend that older people exercise regularly. However, many of them do not get enough exercise. What are the reasons? What can be done to encourage them to exercise more?

Despite doctors’ recommendations for regular exercise, many elderly neglect them, leading to a lack of exercise. In this essay, some reasons and practical solutions to this phenomenon will be thoroughly discussed.

Granted, a host of older people avoid exercising due to the fear of serious injuries and accidents. Specifically, as people age, the physical resilience of the body diminishes with weaker bone structures and less flexible muscles and joints, which hinders the mobility and stamina of many older people. As a result, they tend not to participate in recreational and sports activities, which reduce the probability of getting hurt or injured. Vietnam, one of the countries that have the shortest longevity globally, serves as a prime example of having a sedentary lifestyle among older generations as a mere 10% of them exercise daily as most of them have suffered from obesity or other spinal problems. This underscores a primary reason for avoiding exercise among many elderly as a precaution for accidents and injuries.

To address this, providing modern facilities and infrastructures for recreational activities is of paramount importance in ensuring older demographic exercises regularly. By constructing parks and facilitating innovative sports equipment, their reliability and practicality can outshine the fear of incidents as they enhance the exercise experience to a great extent. To exemplify, by building public parks in every city, Japan is renowned for being the country with the highest longevity in the globe as 70% of the elderly exercise for 1 hour per day, highlighting the implication of sporting infrastructures on the overall development and prosperity of society.

In conclusion, the lack of exercise stems from reduced mobility as people get older and the fear of getting injuries. To overcome these, I strongly believe that governments and public companies should direct funding toward building public parks with modernized sports pieces of equipment to ensure the longevity and sustainability of society.