Doctors recommend that older people exercise regularly. However, many older people do not exercise enough. What could be the reason for this? What can be done to encourage them to do physical activities?

Exercises is the vital role for healthy life especially for oth older people for good health and proper blood supply. Doctors mostly recommend light exercises for elderly people. Lot of reasons or barriers to refuse exercises by elderly people. They should be encouraged to do exercises every day.

The first reason is elderly people are so sensitive and fragile. Body easy to injured comparison to young people. Even recovery time is very slow if something happens. For example, my grandfather was fall last year and hip fractured. After the surgery he was recovered within 8 months. So that he is always so scarred to do exercises. I recommend older people should encourage for exercises with good resources available for safety like wheelchair, cane and some support workers.

Secondly, older people feel tired due to body function slow down as per age. Mostly they preferred to do rest. Furthermore, i am working in long term care. There are lot elderly people. When physiotherapist asking for exercises they denies to do exercises because they feel body feels tired and unable to do the activities. I like to advise they should follow the dietitian and take some supplements so that body feels better and should be give some enjoyment activity to encourage for exercises such as music, dance and some games with winner prizes.

Old aged people need exercise to maintain body function and should remove the barriers. They always need some group activities and encouragement things. That would be helpful to do the daily engage in exercises.