Doctors recommend that older people should do exercise regularly. However, many of them didn't take enough exercise. What are the reasons? How can we solve the problems?

As health treatment has improved with development of technology, the elderly has taken a primary part of human population. As a result, there is a growing call to urge older people to take regular exercise to prevent from health issues. However, several problems leads to the consequence that many older people still don’t take enough exercise.

Firstly, the lack of motivation is the crucial hindrance that stops the elderly from exercising. In contrast, young people often go to gym and fields because of demands of P.E class and invitations from friends. Nevertheless, older people don’t have similar conditions of school activities and peer pressure.

Secondly, the risks of physical injuries might deter the elderly from adequate exercise. For instance, they might be afraid that they have the possibility of tripping over during running, which causes them would rather stay at home and enjoy the safety than go to fields and bear the risks.

In order to solve these problems, I suggest that the government should offer assistance for older people to make new friends, which might motivate them to go outside and hang out with friends more often. In addition, the government should also provide education about how to exercise safely to prevent the elderly from injuries.

In conclusion, lacking motivation and the risks of injuries are two primary reasons that older people don’t have enough exercise. As a solution, the government should assume a role to provide sources for older people to seek exercise partners and instructions for them to exercise in safety.