Does social media reduce people's ability to engage in meaningful discussion?

Social media has undoubtedly facilitated communication and provided various opportunities to communicate effectively and swiftly. At the same time, it has stirred the sense of superficial and insincere communication, as if people became unable to have meaningful and productive conversations anymore. This essay will analyse this question and draw an inference based on provided arguments.

Prior to social media and any electronic communicative tools, people were accustomed to write lengthy and genuine letters to each other. Since communication was a strenuous and prolonged process, people would embellish their messages and perform penmanship. In our modern world, however, everyone is capable of communicating with each other effortlessly. Individuals are provided with the opportunity to utilize internet services and to write messages that are sent instantaneously. Since there is no need to scrawl lengthy letters, it seems as though superficial communication is entailed. Having said that, the claim that humans are unable to engage in meaningful discussions because of social media sounds somewhat implausible. In fact, such mobile applications as Reddit have been stimulating heterogeneous community to engage in complex discussions regarding various topics including scientific themes, and has been fostering worldwide discourses. This example solely elucidates that social media drives people to engage with complex discussions.

Considering both the benefits and drawbacks of social media, and the argument related to Reddit, an inference can be drawn that social media does not curb people’s ability to partake in complex discourses. In some cases it even fosters meaningful and constructive dialogues between various individuals.