Doing an enjoyable activity with a child can be better for their overall skills development and creativity than reading. To what extent do you agree?

It is true that enjoyable activities enrich and improves the skills in a child, and I agree with this because, every activity has something to offer them while they are growing. Nevertheless, reading is an important skill and could be incorporated in many didactical games.

Nowadays, parents use different kind of activities to enjoy and spend time with their child while they are growing; some games have an educative objective while others just come suddenly from children’s imagination with no educational purpose. Many people agree with this idea because playing a game with a purpose could get a good outcome in terms of enrich all the skills or some of them. It is the case of a father and mother that want to teach a child how to use a variety of colours in a painting while the infant express it is feelings and practice some painting skills combined with emotions.

On the other hand, there is people that look separately a good play time from a specific skill such as reading. Some parents prefer to separate a leisure activity from a reading time because, it might be related to a child’s school activities or could be incorporated in their weekly routine instead of thinking in play while they are reading. Some people disagree with the idea that reading is not an enjoyable activity for example, some parents use the bedtime to read a book with a child while, parents are examining pronunciation, vocabulary and even expression; they can create as many reading activities as they want and improving this skill at the same time.

In my opinion, I agree with the idea that enjoyable activities develop good creativity in a child and helps them with their overall skills but, reading could be found in playtime in different activities while improving this important skill.