Doing an enjoyable activity with a child can develop better skills and more creativity than reading. To what extent do you agree? Use reasons and specific examples to explain your answer.

Some people think that participating in an interactive activity can enhance skills and creativity more than reading. I partially agree with this statement since both habits can be beneficial no less than each other and it would be better to provide both two activities to our kids.

On the one hand, fun activities improve children’s skills and creativity, which can not be provided by reading. For example, role-playing enhances students’ public speaking skills and confidence because this acting requires much practice to perform on stage among various audiences. Furthermore, this activity improves the kids’ imagination because they can play many fairy tale characters and adjust the tone of dialogue based on the story. Although there are many fantasy books on the shelves, they can not improve practical skills without doing it.

On the other hand, the advantages of reading are no less than the hands-on activities and they enhance distinct skills development and increase the boundaries of creativity. For instance, reasoning skills are difficult to train in interactive activities because they require a comprehensive understanding of a topic and logical connections. But these two requirements can only be practiced by reading books and studying. In addition, fiction books also extend the limits of creativity since written works are the source of ideas and they can be references for new ideas.

In conclusion, enjoyable activities are essential for the skills and creativity development of children but studying cannot be overlooked for its advantages, which are complementary to those activities. Therefore, I think we should combine these activities and time with books for optimal development.