During holidays or weekends, young people spend less time on outdoor activities in the natural environment, such as hiking and mountain climbing. Why? What can be done to encourage them to go out?

Nowadays, the younger people tend to stay indoor instead of spending their leisure time engaging in some natural outdoor activities such as hiking or mountain climbing. There are underlying reasons for this, and some practical solutions to encourage them to go out.

This issue might be attributable to two main reasons. One reason might be that, at present the younger especially students who have to spend a lot of time a day for studying or working. This can lead to most of them just want to stay at home instead of going outdoor. For example, most Asia students such as China or Korea spend around 11 hours a day for school and their homework, therefore they are too tired to spend time for such heavy pastimes like hiking or climbing. Furthermore, living in a digital era most people who are in the young age prefer staying with their mobile phones to taking part in some outdoor activities. As a result, most of them tend to have a sedentary lifestyle and do not want to do anything apart from scrolling social platforms.

Therefore, some practical measures are suggested to alleviate the problem. To begin with, one viable step is that school and parents should raise their awareness of positive effect of natural activities and also add some of academic lectures related to nature. The other measures is that government should impose a strict rule about limiting the number of hours young people can access to social media. For example, the USA already built a wall fire which only allows their students to go in social platforms 2 hours a day to make a call with their family.

In conclusion, there are two main reasons why the younger spend only a small amount of their time joining in outdoor activities such as hiking and climbing, and some feasible steps should be taken into account to help deal with the problem for the aforementioned argument.