Ecotourism, while intended to support conservation, can sometimes negatively impact fragile ecosystems and local cultures. What are the potential problems associated with ecotourism, and what strategies can be employed to make it more sustainable and beneficial for all stakeholders?

Over the past few years there have been a tremendous growth in ecotourism,while growth is a good thing it has had negative consequences to weak ecosystem and the surrounding local culture, it has had problems such as environmental pollution and bad influence to the local people. This essay will discuss the problems and give possible solutions.

To start with, ecotourism has lead to environmental degradation whereby visitors litter everywhere in the places they tour hence a dirty environment bringing about poor aesthetic of a place, this can also lead to disease causing germs.Additionally tourist could also influence the local people in a negative way, for instance the locals can copy the tourist’s mode of dressing this will lead to a clash with the social norms and the way of dressing in the society.

Moving on, to curb this problems, the society needs to be educated on the importance of following the cultural norms, stakeholders should come up with rules and regulations against littering those found with the offence should be charged hefty fines moreover their should be incentives for those who adhere to the rules.

In conclusion, the government should come up with a set of rules to govern the ecotourism sector, it should also provide education to its citizens on the importance of ecotourism and also it’s contribution to the economy.